Unintended

Consequences

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJul 31, 2022

--

Photo by Filip Zrnzević on Unsplash

I somehow missed you disappearing.
I never thought you could fall.
Part of the unintended consequences
Down came bough cradle and all.

I turned around and missed the moment
I was distracted and too blind to see
You walked away the other way
Then you turned and looked back at me.

Unintended consequences fall like raindrops.
Angels on wings keep drifting down.
The streets are now empty of people
Everyone’s left this dirty old town.

I see remnants of you in the corner
I don’t know the way you feel any more
Your suitcase is left half empty
Are you knocking on heaven’s door?

In the morning mist, I miss you
My mind is a carapace of my soul
I walk around in diminishing circles
My emptiness houses no living goal

The memory of you still lingers on
I wake at night, and you are there
I call out your name, but it’s not the same
I see traces of you everywhere

Traces of unintended consequences
I stop here and sit and stare
Morning descends my mind transcends
And you’re not there

In the early morning rain
With a dollar in my hand
And the aching in my heart
and the pockets full of sand

©

David Rudder

2014

Thanks for reading.

Click below for unlimited access to all Medium stories and poems for less than US $1/week.

Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.