Up and Down

And roundabout.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readSep 25, 2023

--

Photo by Akshay Paatil on Unsplash

Up and down and roundabout,
The twists that turn my mind,
Some come home to settle,
Others stay behind.

The ascents have an accent,
A language of their own,
When it’s up my thoughts erupt,
When down I stay at home.

So it goes, nobody knows,
What each day may bring,
A bassoon and tuba,
Or a ding a ling.

Lift me, to let me down,
Scale the high ascents,
Don’t drop off the precipice,
There is no recompense.

When I’m down I wear a frown,
When up I wear a smile,
A half a cup of happiness,
It goes a country mile.

So here I am sometimes a sham,
Other times I rise,
With intent my quick ascent,
Comes as a great surprise.

Love has length and latitude,
Mirth has moments too,
Rising is enterprising,
Ascents into the blue.

So, I say I treat each day,
With what each moment brings,
And the ascents turn moments,
Into when my heart sings.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.
Write and be paid!

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.