Verifying the Veracity

Confusion.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readJun 20, 2023

--

Photo by Uday Mittal on Unsplash

Verifying the veracity
Of tales, I’ve been told
Colleagues carefully closing ranks
I’m left out in the cold

Searching for sincerity
The truth’s so hard to find
Stress and ambiguity
And confusion in my mind

Passing the buck down the line
Who’s right and who is wrong
A conjuring confabulation
And being led along

Where are fact and certitude
Has verity been lost?
Walking down truths tightrope
Disillusionment’s the cost

Seeking clarification
From mixed messages, I’ve heard
Understanding the inexplicable
The truth is sadly blurred

All I need is answers
That seems so hard to find
The questions are so simple
Something to ease my mind

Confusion is a careless curse
Fact’s better than fiction
Let me hear the simple truth
Honesty, not a contradiction

©

David Rudder
2014

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.