Poetic Essences

Walk into Talk

On someday.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

--

Thank you. YouTube.

As I walk into your talk
I hear your voice again
Singing like a melody
The sweet, sweetest refrain.

Through the years and the tears
The whispers in my dreams
Passed as fast as the breeze
Breaking from the seams.

What went wrong is a song
Like a twelve-bar blues
From your open lips
Right down to your shoes.

There was quiet and despite
The floods and rain that came
Deep down in a broken heart
Things were not the same.

I watched my verse try to rehearse
The fractured feelings that I felt
And like an awkward intercourse
I ached below the belt.

The pride and fall and purpose
Turned red like autumn leaves
Others lost in the impost
Leave as two hearts grieve.

In this incarnation
The lessons I have learned
Patience love and forgiveness
Are what my heart has yearned.

Someday not too far away
Will you merge from the blue
And we can kiss in total bliss
I will not fail you.

©

David Rudder
22nd April 2022

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports David Rudder and other writers you read. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you a wonderful platform to publish and earn from your own poetry, photographs, and stories on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.