Who am I

I ask

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readNov 19, 2022

--

Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

Who am I, I ask?
Am I a mistaken identity
And maybe I’m not sure.
If I am an entity.

I often ask the question.
Do I know myself?
Or just an ornament
sitting on their shelf

When I look in the mirror
Do the eyes I see
Looking back in puzzlement
Belong to me.

The face I see with creases.
And smile, that lights my dial.
Is it real?
Or an anatomic file.

Full of suppositions
And unanswered questions
Where will I find the light? I cry
Do you have any suggestions?

In and out and roundabout
My life weaves another web.
Is the tide on the rise
And what time will it ebb?

I can’t be sure and never will
Who am I?
Is it a mistaken identity?
Or an errant spy

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.