With Eyes

Wide open.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readOct 23, 2023

--

Photo by Harry Quan on Unsplash

Some plans are made with ambiguity
Hesitation and buckets full of doubt
Then others crystallise in a moment
And there’s never any backing out.

With you and I, there are no second thoughts
I enter our liaison with eyes wide open
I never hesitate to follow what is the fate
And honour the words we’ve both spoken.

In love, there is never any camouflage
All are exposed for both of us to see
I cannot hide the scars on my back
Or the pain I have in my knees.

All is accepted as the normal course
We are human and are as frail as any other
We unite on the principle of love
And relate as a sister and a brother.

There is much more that is unique
The elusive trust and equanimity
That develops with time spent together
Along with harmony and synchronicity.

So, I take your hand on this journey
As we venture to places unknown
We accept that love is an enigma
And are content to go where we are blown.

In the past, there were plans with ambiguity
Hesitation and feelings of doubt
This time I’ll crystallise the moment
And never consider backing out.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry. Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.