Written

On the pages

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readNov 20, 2022

--

Photo by Héctor J. Rivas on Unsplash

Written on the pages
The words of history
The real fact and fiction
Intrigue and mystery.

Books hold the contents.
That keeps me satisfied.
Written in prose or rhyme
The status quo is classified.

I lie back and turn the pages.
I caress with my fingertips.
The tactile fulfilment
It eclipses the beauty of the scripts.

Pages hold anticipation
The author moves the plot.
Into a web of mystery
Every word they jot

I love a book I can reach out to
And take it in my hands.
And turn pages one by one.
They meet my sensuous demands.

Pages are the chronicles.
Of how I’ve lived my life
The way I get things off my mind.
A tune played on my fife.

I turn the words of destiny.
Written on the pages
Down the line on the spine
Follows me through the ages

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.