TechGirl
PoeticProgrammer
Published in
5 min readJul 22, 2024

--

The Tree

July 20, 1970

I don't know about other parts of the world, but summer is one of the most beautiful times in Colorado. I had a very busy day at work and went home, cooked my own dinner, and slept in front of the TV.

In one of my dream..

I am sitting on a chair next to a coffee shop. There are several historical buildings around me. On this dark blue night, the sky is cloudless. The sweet breeze of summer is filling me with joy. I am sipping coffee, watching people walking around, enjoying the weather and aroma around me. There was a wishing tree next to the coffee shop. I observed people writing, discussing things, and putting their wishes on the tree. I have had this dream for some time now.

In my dream, I want to write all my wishes and desires and put them on the tree. Some nights in my dreams, I could not come up with any wishes. Some nights I had so many desires to write on paper. But I was never able to put my wishes on the tree. And I always wake up with this burning desire to hang my wishes on this tree. I always felt that if I successfully put my dreams and desires on this tree, everything in my life would be perfect. I know I was not sane enough to think a tree could change my life, but the dream made me believe it could be done.

After having experienced these dreams several times now, I wanted to find this tree when I started working in a financial organization. Luckily, I could travel the world and visit many cities and countries. Initially, I used to visit places with wishing trees, but I never had the same feeling as I did in the dream. Slowly, I started to move on from the idea that this tree existed and could solve all of my problems and fulfill my desires. And started to forget about it.

After a few years, I went on a business trip for my company. I was asked to go to Europe. I landed in Frankfurt, Germany, and started working on my project overseas. It was a 3 months long project. I made a few really good friends and enjoyed my time in Germany. One of my friends was visiting his grandmother in France and asked us to join him. I was initially reluctant because I had been to France several times before, and I felt there would be nothing much to see. James is the engineer that I work with. He is originally from France, and he said, “We will be visiting my grandmother’s house and she lives in a beautiful small village. You will like it. Trust me!” His words were convincing enough, so I decided to go with them.

We traveled via trains and reached James’s grandmother’s house around 11 p.m. at night. She was very happy to see us. She arranged for us to stay in the lakeside bungalow she lives in with her dog and granddaughter. I was tired and wanted to go to bed. I slept as soon as I hit the bed.

The following day, I woke up really early. I got freshened up and went to James’s room but he was already gone. I went downstairs to find him and the others. Eli, James’s grandmother, made pancakes, and James helped her. When I arrived, they asked me to eat breakfast. We all sat and started eating. The food was amazing. I felt refreshed and energetic after finishing my pancakes, fried eggs, homemade bread with jam, tea, Croissants, fried eggs, and orange juice. After breakfast, we made plans to visit the lake and spend the day there, relaxing and eating.

At night, I decided to take a walk in the heart of the village. I was walking next to this ancient-looking building, wondering how old it might be. I felt the cool breeze touching my cheeks. And I could smell the coffee. I started walking in the direction of a pleasing coffee smell. I saw a small coffee shop in a really old building. There were a few tables and chairs outside next to the shop door. I suddenly looked at the sky. And yes, it was dark blue and clear. I could see so many stars in the sky, twinkling really brightly. And suddenly, my heart started pounding, and my eyes started to find The tree. And there it was. It was exactly like my dream. People were walking, laughing, scribbling something on paper, and hanging it on the wishing tree. I was numb for a few minutes and could not believe that I had finally found the tree that I had been dreaming of for so many years.
After a few minutes, I came to my senses. And told me, “today is my day!” I sat in the chair next to the door of the coffee shop. I ordered a le cafe (coffee) for one of the waitresses who was serving. I also requested paper and a pen. I started writing, and I poured down every single dream, wish, or desire I had. I wrote until I felt there was nothing else in this world I would want to ask for. I started walking toward The tree. The tree was green, tall, and beautiful. I felt goosebumps while hanging the wishes I wrote on the tree. I smiled at the tree triumphantly.

I was now sipping my coffee and looking at The tree. Like it would go alive or something or probably aliens or god will come to me and make miracles happen for me. I was excited and desperately hoping for something to happen. Around 15 minutes later, I started to come to my senses and kept telling myself how stupid I was to think something amazing would happen because of some tree. I started to become logical and thought about paying my bill and going home and forgetting about all this. I went inside the coffee shop to pay my bill. The waiter who was serving gave me the bill and started talking to me. She was an art student from London visiting her friend’s parents for the summer. She was done with her shift, so she asked me to join her for another cup of coffee.

It’s been 3 years since I met Jenny in a small village coffee shop in France. And she is more to me than all the dreams I wrote on that piece of paper. The tree knew better!

--

--

TechGirl
PoeticProgrammer

"Ctrl + Alt + Delete" for code, "Ctrl + Shift + Defeat" for opponents.