Drunken Thoughts

Hunter Pratt
Poetrica
Published in
1 min readDec 22, 2018

A poem

Photo by Thư Anh on Unsplash

The floor is falling from under my feet.

I hardly muster a sound, I can’t breathe.

My feelings for this same sad song have died.

What can I do when I’ve lost all my pride?

Has the time slipped into your failing thoughts?

Or has matter left your gaping heart?

For all I see is the chance to breathe,

and escape this eternal misery.

Don’t you speak one word more.

Your words are thoughts- I can’t ignore.

All I see is the chance to breathe,

and escape eternal misery.

I try to find my hope for you.

Shedding light on your cursed voodoo.

Failing to find

what’s been left behind

yet only finding you.

--

--

Hunter Pratt
Poetrica

American poet, and short story writer from Denver, Colorado.