Love Is Gone

Hunter Pratt
Poetrica
Published in
1 min readDec 11, 2018

This minimalist love which I am worn

In a territory of pseudo-smiles

The echoes of my heart that I shall mourn

Rather than the temptress that will beguile

I tire from these broken thoughts

Hopes that fill my broken core

Just when I find what I have sought

I find love exists no more

These females hide from their true self

Men unleash the beast of lust

Behind the picture filters dwell

A demon in each of us

When online chatting is suffice

To satisfy our craving

Human contact is a great price

When anxiety is raving

Are raw emotions hard to find

Or is it that I am simply blind

When all I see is mockery

I fear that love is most confined

Photo by ROBIN WORRALL on Unsplash

--

--

Hunter Pratt
Poetrica

American poet, and short story writer from Denver, Colorado.