Sparkles in the sea

Jasminekang
poetry about life
Published in
1 min readAug 24, 2020
Image source: Unsplash

In the dark on a Kayak in the ocean I ventured,

I wasn’t alone but the feeling of the vastness settled;

On the darker side of the ocean we paddled,

In pursuit of a treasure our minds could not yet fathom;

Our movement turned water into a spectacle,

The water glittered, glistened and sparkled;

Each stroke of the paddle mystified the marvel,

Waves splashed rocks illuminating tiny diamonds;

With rain the ceremony started,

As if with glow worms were we surrounded;

On surface of the sea stars twinkled,

Thousands as the water drizzled;

Underneath the kayak was another pageant,

Fish swimming flashing lights in mayhem;

The glow worms, the flashing lights,

The sparkles and the diamonds;

I heartily absorbed this sensation,

Watching nature’s beauty in admiration;

Entranced, I felt I was dreaming this natural wonder,

Sparkles in the sea are a sight to ponder.

--

--

Jasminekang
poetry about life

Writing is my way to comprehend, appreciate and absorb life!