A Fool For M’lady

Immanuel R. Knight
~POETRY AFTER DARK~
2 min readDec 9, 2016
Stehende Artistin und Pierrot in einem abgedunkelten Raum (1909), Amandus Faure, Public Domain

There is but peace of mind
Brought to me by you
The fear subsides,
I ache inside,
The dreams that do come true…
I’m a mad typer,
A wild dreamer,
Lost to your gaze
Obtained in thy maze
Born by thy haze
What love you are!
I shant forget you
Beyond the beyond…
Eternities unknown to eyes and ears…
Peace of mind brought by love
Peace of mind…

M’lady, M’lady…
How can one convey love for the divine?
How poor are the goals of flesh in life!
How silly are these things we so strive after!
How may I seek the eminence of your alter?
How may I quest for thy grail?
M’lady, by you alone must I prevail!
I shut my eyes,
I open my heart,
And I find you there
Hiding in the stillness,
Bearing the calm,
The beat-thump of heartfelt song!

Drifting I am, furthest flung from where we are
Lain astray across these dark-place stars

There’s nothing left but ache…

…Nothing but ache!

I shall embrace thy burn…

…I must possess thy burn!

And feel the fire of thy love…

The sting of thy grace…

The power of thy presence…

The force of thy love…

The joy that is thy memory…

A divine romance between lover and beloved
Carried out across religions and eternities
Across seas and those strange-bearing stars
Wild forevers
Mad tomorrows

M’lady…
This secret love of ours…
The hush before thine hours…

I am only your fool!
A fool I am!
A fool forever shall I so be!
I pledge my heart to you…

But a fool…

…Only a fool

Dancing amidst your laughter of jewel…

…Your fool

--

--

Immanuel R. Knight
~POETRY AFTER DARK~

Don’t let the dark times get you down. Wandering ways with words.