aflame

Ernio Hernandez
~POETRY AFTER DARK~
1 min readJul 21, 2016
original photo by Igor Lepilin

The embers of old flames
simmer listlessly in the ashes
relics of bygone warmth

Fanned by the winds of passing storms
they burn, slightly brightening
but mere raindrops quell them

The fire aglow in the hearth now
gives off a heat steady and strong
it crackles and blazes, wavers in phases, blows mighty and raises
but never fades into the night air

A light like the combusting stars above
exploding and fixed in space
shining and giving life to the sky and earth below
even invisibly through the day

Dance on, my phoenix
roar as I gaze upon you
envelop me, engulf me, swaddle and swathe me
let me bask and bathe in your hot rage

eternally aflame

Read more poetry by Ernio

~ And More from Poetry After Dark

--

--