Behind the Counter

Molly
~POETRY AFTER DARK~
1 min readJan 24, 2017

sunrise
warm skies
tired eyes
such surprise

I may be dazed
but, through the haze
(the avalanche of stress
that has been these days)

I still look for the lighthouse.

Sometimes I glance a shimmer
when I’m lucky, sometimes a spark
that will complete my whole day
or light up my night, when it’s dark.

And I’m tired, so tired.

I strain my eyes while I search.

Even when he’s exactly what I see
I know he’ll always be

too
far
to reach.

On all the offbeats of our conversation
and even when we’re in syncopated annotation,
I can’t make it any more clear
that you are the only music i hear.

I declare it with everything but words
(because words are hard to keep pace with when you’re near).

That is when you turn to leave.

I feel your name hit the back of my teeth.

Why must I second guess how to breathe?
And since when did I forget the voice I use to speak?

Read more from Molly

~ And Poetry After Dark

--

--