Breath

Immanuel R. Knight
~POETRY AFTER DARK~
1 min readFeb 13, 2017
93Wanderer in the Storm (1835), Carl Julius von Leypold, Public Domain

She tears me apart with moonlight
Kissing edge of midnight clouds
Silver-blue, a shine unknown
To the cult of day
Riding portentous lightning
By her wind I am blown about sidewalks
Swayed, her chilling breath
A gust which says
“Remember me”
In the midst of all life’s chaos
And worldly duty’s strife
“Remember me”
She calls through nightshine
Her freckles speckling the fullness
Bewildering a heart unworthy
Calling my name by storm
A whisper one can’t ignore

Yet for what purpose am I,
A wayward traveler,
Beckoned by her coolest breath
On this,
An otherwise absent night?

--

--

Immanuel R. Knight
~POETRY AFTER DARK~

Don’t let the dark times get you down. Wandering ways with words.