I Love You Like The Rain

Rachel B. Baxter
~POETRY AFTER DARK~
2 min readAug 2, 2016

An Acrostic Poem

t.germeau Creative Commons

I had the most wonderful dream last night.

Late, as I always am, 15 years to be exact, I showed up at your
Office. Be quick, you said, you have a life to get back to.
Vast, this life, your life, of which I was just a minuscule part.
Excitement was building in you, nonetheless.

Young eternally, you are to me and I to you,
Our trists exist only in words and the multitude of meanings
Underneath them. My words are stripped and bare only for you. I

Lust after you like I lust after rain in hot summers,
I love you like the rain that cools me,
Kisses my face and makes me feel alive and worthy of an
Enduring love that is never weathered by years.

The rain that falls in summer you are to me and, like the rain,
Having you only makes me want you to go away again,
Enabling me to lust after and long for you once more.

Remembering my dream of you and your face that never
Ages, makes me wish to sink back into sleep,
If only to converse with you, and delight in our words and their
Nuances flirting and multiplying, as words tend to do.

This poem was written in response to the August 1, 2016, poetry prompt “I love you like the rain” at Poetry After Dark

More by Rachel B. Baxter

--

--

Rachel B. Baxter
~POETRY AFTER DARK~

A few good stories, a thousand different versions. My dreams are written in form. Author of Mother Scorpion. http://rbbaxter.com