Only a Fool Can See

Immanuel R. Knight
~POETRY AFTER DARK~
1 min readSep 22, 2016
Dieter_G Creative Commons

I am a fool for my beloved,
For only a fool can see.

I sit sinking in the mire of her will,
And drown in the sea of love to be.

Blessed are they who can taste her thoughts,
And stand naked before eternity.

In the light of the most radiant, the most beautiful, I am not.
Oh, how the heat of her love burns away my desire!

Where can she be found?
Am I left to sink alone in this mire?

A thousand preachers’ throats lay bare,
The chorus of a million songbirds cannot compare.

Woe to those who are caught up in love,
Singing and dancing below and above.

For only a fool can see.

--

--

Immanuel R. Knight
~POETRY AFTER DARK~

Don’t let the dark times get you down. Wandering ways with words.