Rhapsody of Rose

Immanuel R. Knight
~POETRY AFTER DARK~
1 min readJan 27, 2017
The roses of Heliogabalus, Lawrence Alma-Tadema, Public Domain

My love,
Senses have betrayed me
I am surrounded by serpents
Seeking only to soil my sight
And blind my heart

I have been deceived by the ghosts of this world
Jeering, absorbed in their spoils,
What fools they are!
Can they not see this great deception?
Can they not fathom the depths of your palette?

My eyes flirt with filth
And I am ashamed!
For what is there but your glory?
For what is there but your light?
Spare me the heresy!

My love, my love,
Take my hand,
Pull me from the chassis of abysmal thought
In which I remain but a motor for dead air
And the latent spark of clay
That has grown crusty and withered with dreams

May I so smell your rose
And prick its thorn
That I might be liberated?
May I so kiss your hand
And face your morn
To taste such love thou consecrated?

I wish only to be dissolved back into you
As mind absorbs the dream
Your canvass has captured me
And as I writhe in the agony
Of a painting longing the painter
Your reality tears me by riptide
Leaving my pastel heart but to bloom

--

--

Immanuel R. Knight
~POETRY AFTER DARK~

Don’t let the dark times get you down. Wandering ways with words.