SunDance King

L.
~POETRY AFTER DARK~
1 min readJun 11, 2016
Sun Dance Painting by Paul Tokarski

In another life

If things were different

And all the clichés rang true:

I’d be the wind

Whispering powdered kisses

In your neck;

Singing sweet nothings

Not a word

And still our story would be heard.

I’d be the sun

I’d make you sweat so

You would know me

But we wouldn’t’ve met.

I’ll burn the clouds

And you can paint them red

With gold and diamonds

Like a morning’s spider web.

We’ll write a symphony of dreamed realities

As we jump from one horizon to the next,

If you promise me you’ll forever be

My sun dance king.

Sketched in alternate dimensions

You’ll be my déjà vu

My cigarette will laugh at eternity

But time is a toy for the heartless;

A lost entity won’t know the difference

From one horizon to the next.

But in another life

If things were different

And all the clichés rang true…

I’d be the sun

I’d make you sweat

Where you’d know me

But we wouldn’t’ve met.

--

--