Photo by Lorri Lang (Pixabay)

(I’ll never get over you)

Tamyka Bell
~POETRY AFTER DARK~
2 min readOct 6, 2016

--

You broke my heart over a bucket
of southern fried chicken. You stood up, said, ‘Fuck it,’
and walked out for good, like I knew I should,
but I’d always stuck it to see if you would.

We were so young, but I thought we’d make it.
When life dragged us down, I thought we could take it.
But the distance it grew between me and you,
and though I tried to fake it I knew we were through.

So I let you go,
but I didn’t let you know
that I think I’ll never get over you.

You stole my heart when I first heard you singing
and playing your guitar. Your words were ringing
out over the bar. You were a star,
right from the beginning. I knew you’d go far.

Wherever you went, I thought I could follow —
for each yesterday another tomorrow.
But I didn’t see, there’d be no place for me.
You just had to be free.

So I let you go.
I guess I should’ve let you know
that I think I’ll never get over you.

Ten years ago you walked out that door
and I made a mistake, didn’t beg you to stay.
Ten years alone since I let you go,
and I wish I’d been brave, but I’m ten years too late to say

I’ll never get over you.
No, I know I’ll never get over you.
Oh, I’ll never get over you.

(I always sound better in my imagination.)

Read more from Tamyka Bell

~ And Poetry After Dark

--

--

Tamyka Bell
~POETRY AFTER DARK~

writes. runs. drinks coffee. doesn’t go in for that whole sleep thing