David Moser
~POETRY AFTER DARK~
1 min readAug 2, 2016

--

Photo by David Moser

Together, though there is no Path

I love you like the rain, but without end.
The sound we hear is water’s brazen course
Through sunlight’s final dreams. We’ve no remorse
And wake again as if in dreams we end
The world, yet in you I rejoice and swim.
I speak your name at close of every breath.
Instead of dying we but speak of death;
Instead of drowning I can breathe at whim.

Our inside pulse of warm, of slow felt skin
On skin, reaching, closer, only guiding
Us to look from within the years that drain
Us; to turn again to love and live in
No small room but worlds and wonders gliding
Down into dust. I love you like the rain.

This poem was written in response to the August 1, 2016, poetry prompt “I love you like the rain” at Poetry After Dark

More by David Moser

--

--

David Moser
~POETRY AFTER DARK~

Too many things, and also a farmer. I love my family more than anything else in the world, but cannot resist interesting problems in any field whatsoever.