wild for a while

Ernio Hernandez
~POETRY AFTER DARK~
2 min readAug 2, 2016
photo by Nadine Doerlé (cc0)

The wind spoke to me
he’d been swirling about me in his wayward way
I knew he had a thing for me

Make no mistake, I know I’m no looker
I lead the life of a lonely cactus flower
barely touched and blisteringly bare

His advances were subtle
a breathy whisper which felt like a breeze
a gentle graze of my areole

When he came full force for me
I was already blown away
blustery and swept up by his strength

Our affair was as turbulent as a tornado
he regaled me with prevailing gales
and while wild for a while, it was over just as fast

Alone for so long, I soaked in his attention like a deluge
letting down my prickly defenses
I became wrapped up in the storm and burst:

“I love you like the rain,”
I said, knowing he’d soon be gone.

The words linger within me
truer now than in the moment
for in the drought since he left
this succulent succubus must succumb to him
conserving the memory for a new current still to come…

🌵🌼

This poem was written in response to the August 1, 2016, poetry prompt “I love you like the rain” at Poetry After Dark

Read more poetry by Ernio

--

--