Will I Be Worthy?

Immanuel R. Knight
~POETRY AFTER DARK~
2 min readJan 9, 2017
Ковёр-самолет (1919–1926), Viktor Vasnetsov, Public Domain

When it comes to you
I’m in pain
For I look in the mirror,
And see only that which
May disappoint…

Truly I must be deluded
Trying to think of you
To love you
Remembering your name
Calling in my mind to
Dead winds and
Idle wishes

I want to think of you!
I want that love to fill me
That you may not leave me;
Yet, as of late,
I’ve been a ghost to you
And all that is love
For reasons unknown to either me
Or the moon…

Perhaps it’s part of your game,
A play of love
A bit of fanciful drink
That we may share together
Alas, I am but on the brink
Of leftover understanding
In the guise of man
Dressed up in
A costume of life
Rotting through sand

Time itself has abandoned me
To the shadows
That howl only
To themselves

But your light…
Your single, perfect light,
Pervades the pitch of zero!
Engulfing me again
I’m ashamed
(I feel rotten)
Though I know you love me
Even if I can’t feel it
Nothing begotten

My dear queen,
Please know that
I try
(Yet how little I truly strive)
To love you
To be worthy of you
Only you
Groveling at a pedestal of pearl
Perhaps not meant for the likes
Of a fool

A jester’s vain abstain,
(Cold lust to dust)
Oh, how I shouldn’t!
Though you will, I must?

I shall dance!
And you may laugh…
Summoning all the court,
Real revelry’s riffraff!
And maybe…
…Just maybe
Together we two shall dance
Arm in arm,
And lip to lip

Yet seeing as I am but
A lowly jester,
A life-drunk twit,
Perhaps just eye to eye…

Will I be worthy of it?

--

--

Immanuel R. Knight
~POETRY AFTER DARK~

Don’t let the dark times get you down. Wandering ways with words.