Lotus Ann Hobson
Poetry by Lotus
Published in
1 min readMar 22, 2022

--

Can You Please Just Lie to Me and Tell Me You Love Me?

December 16th 2021

Tell me a lie
Baby, please,
I’ll go down then-
You can fool me with ease,
Just tell me it’s me,
(I know it’s not,
Just say it),
So I nearly know how it feels,
I want to feel airlifted,
By that, the sweetest
Deception,
I want to be Her
For one hour,
And see how the world looks,
But it’s not me,
I’m not Her,
I never will be,
I can’t even pretend anymore,
I used to pretend so good,
Now I’m so tired,
I usually, if you want to know
Well I’ll tell you anyway,
To ease the tension,
I usually get them to lie,
Tell me I’m everything,
Tell me I’m Her,
But they never do it for long,
They’re looking at me but
I know they’re not listening,
They’re thinking of Her,
They’ve stopped lying now,
And the truth is agony,
The truth is every day,
Waking up knowing,
You’ve never been the one
They’ve wanted,
And that’s all, really,
So just lie one time for me.

--

--