A Promise

Tommy J. Charles
Free-Verse Poetry
Published in
1 min readNov 20, 2014

I went to the lake today,
the wind was kicking
up waves on the water
like mini oscillations,
but the water wasn’t moving.
It was an unseen thing.

That’s when it’s best I think,
when the reason stays
in shadows
and we have to wonder,
at how something like this
can work.

We did wonder,
when I asked you all those
years ago to be mine,
how we would
keep from killing
each other.

I don’t know where
you are now,
dearest.
I don’t know who
took you away from me.

Or what.

Maybe it was fate,
or maybe it was the Devil,
or God.

I asked them if they could explain,
just why I should believe
in their version of things.

All I know is what I remember,
those days with you in the park,
timeless encapsulation of essence.

I will find you again.

Get in touch with me on Twitter.

--

--

Tommy J. Charles
Free-Verse Poetry

Science fiction and cyberpunk enthusiast. Copywriter when there are bills to be paid.