All I ask

Tyrone Graham
Poetry en Motion
2 min readJun 26, 2017

--

The eleventh hour
has come and gone
and left me (kneeling) sour
at still being alone

This is a change
(maybe the last
in the range)
and all that is past
isn’t going to shorten
the long wait one bit

Of that I’m certain
each minute drags its feet
like pallbearers phlegm

(Will mine wear white?)

Just look at them

I hate to think of midnight

That’s the worst part
and all I need

Gimme back my heart

I’m treed
ha ha
I’m out on life’s limb
and how far can I climb
before the sky falls?

And keep
back those walls

Gimme tears to weep
then

Or tell me
(if and when)
it wont be
for the time being

For sure (hear?)

So I won’t be seeing
(as clear as the near)
distant dawns
beyond those horny hands
crowning me with thorns
and a cast of thousands
(since a germ
in my mind
insists I come to terms
with the so-called blind)

I’m not saying I must
mix molecules with another
(that’s plain lust)
be a sole brother
or (if you thought it)
have a satellite
in dutiful orbit

Let it be trite
if its balance bugs you
take my power of speech
(and sense of touch too
for all it can reach)
if theres a price

Just one rhyme with someone
just for a trice

With even a stone

--

--

Tyrone Graham
Poetry en Motion

In the beginning was the word. And I got paid for it.