I don’t mean to move too fast

Daniel Garrison
Poetry Genius
Published in
2 min read3 hours ago

A poem

Young girl at sunset
Image by Nightcafe

I don’t mean to move too fast

but I couldn’t sleep last night

because I don’t know your middle name

or how you take your coffee

and for some reason there’s nothing in the world

I would like to know more except maybe

how your hair looks when it’s messy in the morning

and what makes you laugh until you cry

or what makes you laugh when you’re crying

either or both or all of those facts would be just fine

and I know we only just met and I don’t mean to move too fast

but I couldn’t focus this morning

because I need to know your preference and

take out food and the dreams you’d never say out loud

but secretly wish to come true

and if I were to buy you flowers

would you want them to be blue

and I know we only just met and I don’t mean to move too fast

but suddenly your voice is in my head playing on repeat

and I’ll probably never say this out loud

and I should probably get some sleep

but everything that’s significant to you

is significant to me

and I don’t mean to move too fast

but I would trade spots with Atlas

to hold up the world in hopes that you find joy

is more than worth an eternity of weight

at least then I would know your world is safe

and if I were Atlas then I would spend eternity

with a smile on my face and joy in my heart

and I know we only just met

but I wouldn’t trade this for the world

but I want you to soar through the heavens

like the wingéd Icarus before you

and although I couldn’t save him

I will save you

--

--

Daniel Garrison
Poetry Genius
0 Followers
Writer for

I’m an actor, from a broken family, that fell in love, both with the dramatics, and with a girl who doesn’t reciprocate. Please enjoy my thoughts and feelings