The Fear of Clowns

A poem

Tom Kane
Poetry Genius
2 min readApr 13, 2024

--

clowns
with their painted faces
red noses, oversized shoes

they lurk in the shadows waiting to pounce

the fear grips me, tightens its hold
as i see them approach
their laughter echoing through the air

those wild wigs that hide their true selves
those manic grins that conceal
their sinister intent

i want to run, to hide
to escape their piercing gaze
but my feet are rooted to the ground
paralysed by dread

the clowns draw nearer
their antics no longer amusing
but a harbinger of impending doom

my heart races, my palms sweat
as i brace myself for the inevitable

for the fear of clowns
is a primal thing
a deep-seated unease
that refuses to be tamed

Subscribe to get my free weekly Newsletter on Substack. All things poetry — discussion, hints and tips, tuition etc from Medium’s top poetry writer.

Poetry Genius is looking for new writers.

My new Publication, “Poetry Genius” has been launched on Medium. W e are accepting new writers, and will cover all types of poetry and poetry discussions. Check it out at Poetry Genius (medium.com)

--

--

Tom Kane
Poetry Genius

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium