The Gift of Falling

A poem

Tom Kane
Poetry Genius
2 min readApr 18, 2024

--

mother with baby
Image by Nightcafe https://tinyurl.com/2m9e8yju

the end of some things is the beginning of others.
so when my mother’s hands let go of me,
I knew to trust the fall.

the ground rushed up to meet me,
a familiar embrace, a mother’s welcome.
in that suspended moment, I was reborn,
shedding the past, becoming anew.

the impact shook me, rattled my bones,
but I did not break. instead, I took root,
nourished by the fertile earth,
blooming into something stronger, wiser.

what was ending became an opening,
a portal to possibilities yet untold.
so I let go, trusted the descent,
for in the fall, I would find my wings.

Mother with babe in arms
Image by Nightcafe https://tinyurl.com/msfyan2w

Poetry Genius is looking for new writers.

My new Publication, “Poetry Genius” has been launched on Medium. W e are accepting new writers, and will cover all types of poetry and poetry discussions. Check it out at Poetry Genius (medium.com)

Subscribe to get my free weekly Newsletter on Substack. All things poetry — discussion, hints and tips, tuition etc from Medium’s top poetry writer.

--

--

Tom Kane
Poetry Genius

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium