The Weight of Silence

A poem

Tom Kane
Poetry Genius
2 min readApr 17, 2024

--

Woman head and shoulders art depiction
Image by Nightcafe https://tinyurl.com/2mx4tzay

Silence hangs heavy like a shroud,
suffocating the words I cannot speak,
imprisoning me in the depths of my own mind.

In this silence, I am but a prisoner,
confined to the chambers of my thoughts,
where echoes of unspoken truths reverberate
against the walls of my consciousness.

Each unspoken word becomes a weight upon my soul,
dragging me deeper into the abyss of solitude.
I am suffocating beneath the burden of my silence,
longing for release, yet fearing the vulnerability
that comes with letting my voice be heard.

In the stillness of the night, I am haunted
by the echoes of all that remains unsaid.
They linger in the air like ghosts,
whispering secrets I dare not share,
for fear of judgment or rejection.

And so, I remain
trapped in this prison of silence,
yearning for the freedom
that lies just beyond my grasp.

Art, garden of silence
Image by Nightcafe https://tinyurl.com/4ym5v77h

Poetry Genius is looking for new writers.

My new Publication, “Poetry Genius” has been launched on Medium. W e are accepting new writers, and will cover all types of poetry and poetry discussions. Check it out at Poetry Genius (medium.com)

Subscribe to get my free weekly Newsletter on Substack. All things poetry — discussion, hints and tips, tuition etc from Medium’s top poetry writer.

--

--

Tom Kane
Poetry Genius

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium