To Reach The Summit

A poem

Tom Kane
Poetry Genius

--

hill walker on steep rocky path
Image by Nightcafe

I’ve trudged that hill
in life’s hard climb, fingers raw,
soul tired but eyes still bright.
Though rain may fall and thunder rhyme,
I’ll keep ascending toward the light.

The path was never easy, no straight line,
Just curves and bends and rocky terrain.
But I persisted, made that struggle mine,
Fuelled by a hope that wouldn’t wane.

Cascading tears and raging storms may rise,
Seeming to block the journey I pursued.
Yet deep within, a small flame trustful lies,
I am not conquered, I am renewed.

Subscribe to get my free weekly Newsletter on Substack. All things poetry — discussion, hints and tips, tuition etc from Medium’s top poetry writer. Click here:

Poetry Genius | <Tom Kane> | Substack

Poetry Genius is looking for new writers.

W e are accepting new writers, and will cover all types of poetry and poetry discussions. Check it out at Poetry Genius (medium.com)

--

--

Tom Kane
Poetry Genius

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium