Bravo, Lucifer

S L Thomas
Poetry on Medium
Published in
2 min readSep 15, 2015

The light-bringing, morning star
is oxymoronic;
Unless goodness
is found within the abyss
Of evils’
bliss

Then I am that goodness
The abyssal trench
And the stench
that I can make
of the sweetest perfume
Your star; I’ll take
And it will
so easily break

So full of despair
The desolate one
From whence
time begun
You’ve stolen the pure
- Gauged out their
eyes
Replacing earths’ truths
with your depraved lies

The nail, quite dead
Yet resplendent in blood red
Dark dagger, cloak of cool
I’ll take the worldly wise
Give them alibis
Make them
my fabulous fool

Your horns are made
of deceit
The receipt
for the bed that you dressed
You bring the dance
of dread
Where wishes waltz
among the ecstatically
depressed

Learn, and know my name
And what it means
to take the blame
For all you do
The wrong
and the true
Isn’t really down to me
I guess it’s hard to see
When there’s no gulf
between what’s
right and
unholy

There is no religion
When barbed tails
are swung
No one believed that
shit anyway
I’ll spit on the book
from which you
were born,
Angel —
As you became
the definition of
our shame
You are the one to blame
Or can you not tell?

Oh I know full well
The mess is mine
And it’s utterly divine
I am woman, man
Human, in short
My reflection is caught
Through an innocent eye
And though you’ll try
To get by
You’re already bought
It’s such good sport
Or, if you prefer
Bravo, Lucifer…

** This is a collaboration with a fellow writer of mine.

--

--

S L Thomas
Poetry on Medium

Co-founder & CEO, The Creative Mental Health Charity, PoetsIN.