How to Talk to Your Father

Wholly Holly
Poetry Palace
Published in
2 min readJun 15, 2020

--

Find a quiet place or go to Folly Beach.

That was his (my? our?) favorite place. (I think.)

Stop Thinking.

Clear your mind. (how do I stop thinking?)

Kneel. (the sand is rough on my skin)

Press your hands together and close your eyes.

Bow your head. (Our father, who blah blah blah…)

Tell him how much you love him.

Tell him what you’re doing. (maybe not everything)

Ask if he is proud. (the answer terrifies me)

But do this in your head. He is there, (is he?)

and you must be quiet. (how do I do both?)

It’s okay to cry (Quietly, with Dignity and Grace)

You may not hear an answer, but know he (He?) has heard.

When at last we spoke, all these rules I broke
I was not alone. My words were not my own.

I sang about drugs and I sang about blood
Never told him all the things that you thought I should

My head bowed, bowed to the bowed strings and bass thrums
Locked in a dance for dominance with the steady beating drums

--

--

Wholly Holly
Poetry Palace

Poet and author across several genres, with a love of photography and gardening.