You know me

Iva Beranek
Poetry Palace
Published in
2 min readJun 22, 2020
Self-portrait by me.

You knew me
before you scattered the stars across the sky,
before you created day and night,
before I ever knew
I could be known

You loved me
when I was but a seed
growing beneath my mother’s
heart

Before I learned that love
gives me each breath
you fashioned my inmost being,
you have loved me
before the beginning of time
and after its end

You know me
in the depths I have
yet to fathom
in the chambers
of my heart
I have yet to visit
you are — already there
waiting to
show me
love

Dreams,
you had them for me
before I could ever dream.
You dreamed on my behalf
imparting the eternal seeds
into my heart

You smiled knowing
they would flourish
at the right
time

You love me with the love
so fierce that I often underestimate its
vastness.

You are a dawn of all
goodness
in my life
and the perfect end to each
pain,
tears I cry
you turn into pearls.
Why am I often blind
to see that?

The fragrance of my dreams
allures you deeper into
love.
It is the fragrance of heaven,
my alabaster jar,
broken,
spent,
anointed beneath my feet
is the soil,
the green pastures
where I walk

Anointed is the land
you fashioned out of
your heart,
anointed are the tears,
prayers,
yearnings

Anointed is the silence
in which I wait for
your answer,
silence of not knowing
your ways,
pain of not yet seeing the
Resurrection day

Anointed is the gap
between the promise
and realization
and all the years in-between,
anointed is the faith
that knows it is empty
now
in order to be
filled

© Iva Beranek

--

--

Iva Beranek
Poetry Palace

Poet, writer, motivational speaker, spiritual director. I capture beauty through words & photography. PhD in Christian Spirituality (healing of memories).