Times Like This

Jessica Niziolek
Poetry Place
Published in
1 min readJul 21, 2019
https://www.pexels.com/two-black-aircrafts

It’s times like this, I wish I had the power to go to you.

It’s times like this, I wish I could do more than wait.

I feel like there is a storm brewing, about to rip me from your hold.

You’re there

I am here, helpless,

with a stomach full of nervous anticipation tide my butterflies in place.

Why do I hear silence still?

The clouds that drift across the sky we share they hold their tears to cry.

Joy or sorrow?

Only time will tell.

It’s times like this, I wish I could fashion a bridge made from the ticks of clocks, feel your hands hold me, instead of watching them slowly going around in a dance.

Made for a lonely one….

--

--

Jessica Niziolek
Poetry Place

Disability advocate, a creative, blogger, podcast host, poet