Poetry

24-Hours Without You

Poetry

Deborah Woruka
Poetry Playground
Published in
2 min read6 days ago

--

Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

A day without you,
is 24-hours in a city unknown.

My heart beats in slivers,
two strong slivers.

The first sliver yearns to
come back,
to the home you are.
To the home
of your tender wake-up calls,
your invisible embrace,
and long peaceful whispers.

I want to buzz back
to your honeyed heart
that feeds my hungry passion.
I want to sink back
into your gaze,
which wraps me snug and tight,
like a silky downy blanket.

I feel the second sliver
pulling me,
pulling me to tinier slivers.
Pulling me,
so hard, so deep,
into the adventure
of the unknown.

I have always loved the allure
of the unknown.
Mama said so,
and Mama never lies.

It’s almost 48-hours,
without you,
and the story is different
from the 24-hours.

© Deborah Woruka 2024. All Rights Reserved.

This is a wonderful poem by

:

Read more incredible poetry with Poetry Playground:

Poetry Playground

--

--

Deborah Woruka
Poetry Playground

I love the beautiful colours of life. So, I write about them.