Poetry

A Failing Attempt

A poem on attempts and failure

Aaren Herron
Poetry Playground
Published in
2 min readMay 7, 2024

--

Photo by MJH SHIKDER on Unsplash

I tried writing a set
My mind was blown
And I can’t figure it out yet

Should the words flow like wine
Or is it a verse
One I’ve sung for the first time

Where do I look
When my mind is blindfolded
By the thoughts you took

I know I should turn the other way
But a new path isn’t the same

I guess that’s the point
Challenge yourself to put down the joint

But then what’s the plan?
I’m not quite sure what to do with my hands

Maybe I’ll find a way
Living a life you’d see
On stage in a play

Sing about me
Will you?

Laugh about me
Will you?

I’ll fly away with glory
At least then I wont be lonely

I’ll keep on the sunny side
With the darkness
Resting in the back of my mind

--

--

Aaren Herron
Poetry Playground

Creative writer working to hone his craft, no longer at the expense of a mental state.