Poetry

A Velveteen Life

A Luxury Poem

Tee Bass
Poetry Playground

--

Image by Peace,love,happiness from Pixabay.

I want a window at bedside
That stays open ‘till the moons high,
Or ‘till the rain falls softly on my pillow.

I want a courtyard of orchards,
And monochrome portraits
Painted, then storaged,
For generations and clans to know.

I want a manor, not a mansion
In a spider-web fashion,
Dipped in American snow.

Let plum velvet roads compliment the grass
Coated in admiral blue.
Colors of a dynasty, like a phoenix, born anew.

I want an ocean black home
With plum velvet walls,
And satin children, and a silk-woven wife.

I want all — yet all of these velvet-rich dreams
Will gift me a velveteen life.

I believe it’s in free-verse poetry where we see imagery, symbolism, and metaphor perform the best. A Velveteen Life is short, which is reflective of the mythology that accompanies luxury, often leaving us worn instead of wealthy. Rather than going the standard money-power-and-sex route, I wanted to illustrate opulence in the mold of a simple life (wife and child, nice home, orchards) while maintaining the stereotypical exaggerated grandeur (velvet roads, satin children).

Thanks for reading. Don’t forget to follow! :)

Check out this poem by Pixel Floyd:

Read more incredible poetry with Poetry Playground:

Poetry Playground

--

--