Poetry

Gone

A Zeno

Eaflevin
Poetry Playground
Published in
2 min readMay 17, 2024

--

Photo by Stuart Bartlett on Unsplash

I can’t feel your murmuration.

I can’t be your

starling.

Though

your hawk eyes hold

my shape,

low

in oak’s shade, just

dry leaves

blow.

Photo by Kovid Rathee on Unsplash

When we drive through the valley where rice fields are flooded and large flocks of birds live, sometimes in the early evening we are treated to these amazing flocks of birds swooping and soaring, creating changing shapes in the sky. It is an amazing and mesmerizing sight.

I only recently found out that these birds are starlings, and that the flock flying together is called a murmuration. It comes from the sound their wings make when they fly. It resembles the rush of a giant wave. It’s so beautiful. I like the way the word murmuration sounds so I had to use it in a poem. I hope you enjoy it.

Here are three haikus from Portia that I really enjoyed! I think you will too! :)

--

--

Eaflevin
Poetry Playground

I am taking a break from wandering, but I’m still in search of inspiration. Words are my paint and clay. Mom to pets and humans. 💕