POETRY

O Mother, Where Have You Gone?

A Tribute to My Parents

Nitin Garg
Poetry Playground
Published in
2 min readJul 20, 2024

--

A Tribute to My Parents

Oh my mother, where have you gone?
You were like a fairy to your father,
Whenever you visited Maternal Grandmother home,
You hardly ever had a moment free,
Always busy with your father’s melodies.

Hours would pass into the night,
You would keep talking all night long,
Suddenly at 5 AM, my eyes would open,
And there you were, fully prepared,
I wonder where you got such energy,
Oh my mother, where have you gone?

There was something about you,
That everyone adored,
You taught us everything and then left,
Binding us together,
Like a true servant leader,
Whenever trouble came to our home,
You faced risks alone,
Talking on the phone like that,
Everything seemed fine there,
Even though we knew it wasn’t,
Would an MBA education ever teach that?
You, like a true servant leader, taught us everything,
Being with you, we learned so much,
Even a person like me to cook,
Oh my mother, where have you gone?

--

--

Nitin Garg
Poetry Playground

A Soul Writer, IT software Engineer. I write about Life experiences, life purpose, empathy, gratitude, Selfless service, Technical topics articles.