Poetry

The Birds Speak

A poem

Haley Lou
Poetry Playground
Published in
2 min readJul 28, 2024

--

Image owned by author

The birds speak
they are heard, but never understood.
No one cares to understand,
but surely their words must mean something.
I wonder as I wander
what would they have to say?

Isn’t the weather nice today?
Surely the seed I found will suffice for today.
Have you heard the heron crying?
So lonely and so far away.

Have you seen my nest? I seem to often lose
my sense of direction.
I seem to often lose myself,
in the wind, in the trees, and in the water.

I seem to lose myself
in the things I never ask to stay.
And I seem to lose my mind
over the things I could never say.

No,
these thoughts are far too human
for creatures that are so free.
With their gleeful singing how could they feel
so deep.

Their beauty makes the air feel lighter
with their kaleidoscopic wings
they lift off and fly away…

--

--