Poetry

The Ocean Awaits

A surprise to my former self: here I live

Catherine Oceano
Poetry Playground
Published in
2 min readApr 4, 2024

--

A white and green-trimmed boat floats on a clear sea. Clouds float across a blue sky and there are coniferous trees on the hill at the shoreline
Author’s home. Photo credit: author, Catherine Oceano

The ocean is my home
I’m not a mermaid
but I abide just above the
water level

My home floats
and travels
across the sea,
the one outside my porthole

It’s blue, or green or grey
depending on the tide and wind
and what empties into the ocean
from the rivers and whatever else

The water glistens with the sun
or is lashed by rain or snow
winter brings ice
Summer turns it to a proximous swimming hole

Although some are frightened
by the seals that flap nearby, the kelp that lurks
and the knowledge that fish poop in this water
we cool in it anyway

The navy beckoned my father and his brother
the seas lured my husband, his father, uncle,
children, nephew
I am here, a fated onlooker dragged willingly

--

--

Catherine Oceano
Poetry Playground

old but not dead, mother, partner, grandmother, writer, Canadian Become a Medium member and support great writers like me.