The Ocean Deep

A poem on the sea

Aaren Herron
Poetry Playground

--

Photo by Matt Hardy on Unsplash

The sea
She calls to me
Singing sweet songs
Of abundancy

Her waves
Crashing at my feet
Break the days
With a crumble from beneath

But what lies beneath
That deep dark blue
Is it something complete
Or a fear near and true

She calls to me
I’m not sure why
Is it something in between
Or maybe up in the sky

That tells me this time
Is one off beat
Pulling me towards the dune
Bellowing in the heat

But I can’t fall forward
And I can’t look back
I can only dream onward
Towards the light of a pearly shack

Sword in sheath
Hand on hip
If the Kraken attacks
I won’t be another ship

--

--

Aaren Herron
Poetry Playground

Creative writer working to hone his craft, no longer at the expense of a mental state.