Poetry

The Ocean Inside

A poem on the mind (Poetry Playground prompt #15)

Aaren Herron
Poetry Playground
Published in
2 min readApr 2, 2024

--

Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

I once tried to write it
The images swirling in my mind
Ever pouring was the mental faucet
A sacrifice in the ocean of time

I swear that I tried
Sludging through the depths
Piecing together every puzzle I’d find
Raking the sea floor with the widest breadth

The pieces speak to me
“Ahoy, help this boy would ya?”
I say, “There’s no boy I see
Ayuda, necesito ayuda ahora”

Today not tomorrow
The sea levels are rising
There is no path to follow
I fear I may be drowning

A whimper swells
From below.. above?
A siren sings from hell?
A boy cries for love?

I can’t see him
I can’t show you
Trust me I’ve tried
Trust me I’ve lied

--

--

Aaren Herron
Poetry Playground

Creative writer working to hone his craft, no longer at the expense of a mental state.