Poetry

THE RAINS

A Poem

Smita Roy Trivedi, PhD
Poetry Playground

--

Photo by Nicolas Weldingh on Unsplash

A mail to respond to, a call on the landline,
Usual late afternoon haze of leftovers,
And I hear the sudden rumble,
Slate blue skies, the herald of rain,
I think of you, of all that is lost
And it rains, rains like my pain.

It rains in pain, in torrents of sorrow,
The Earth cannot soak it up all,
Rains as if it will wash everything away,
The little moments of joy, of belonging,
I think of you, of all the years together,
And it rains, rains like my pain.

It’s dark outside, and inside darker still,
The rumble continues, deep and wild,
The thunder angry, like our words,
That seemed to din away the love,
I think of you, of all that I said,
And it rains, rains and rains, like my pain.

--

--

Smita Roy Trivedi, PhD
Poetry Playground

An economist by profession, I write on issues close to my heart. Views are personal.