Poetry

Ways of the World

A Tanka Chain

Nancy S Rust
Poetry Playground
Published in
2 min readJun 7, 2024

--

Planet earth encompassing a brightly colored smurf, brown and yellow snail, and cardinal amid color swirls
AI Copilot Image Creator by author

She once asked of me,
Are the Surfs the devil’s work?
Where did you hear that?
At school - I don’t understand.
People find what they look for.

She once said to me,
See the snail on the window-
It is magical-
A yellow, brown, and gray house.
People see what they look for.

Once she halted me,
Do you hear the bird singing?
It’s talking to us-
It’s saying pretty, pretty.
People hear what they look for.

I wanted to write a poem showing the conflicting views of the world that all of us see every day and to convey the idea that our perception is our reality. Yet it is important to me to channel the wonders of our world. When I saw Jonny Masters’s prompt and the idea of using multiple tankas to create a cohesive idea, I decided to give it a try.

--

--

Nancy S Rust
Poetry Playground

Journeying through pages and paths, chasing words, embracing life, promoting literacy. .