Poetry

When a Dream Comes True

Poetry Playground Prompt #30

Nancy S Rust
Poetry Playground
Published in
2 min read2 days ago

--

photo by author

Machu Picchu reaching into clouds!
A hand-hewn marvel of past times!
Its picture beckoned to me,
Gave me a deep yearning
To feel mountain air
Climb stone steps
Walk steep
Trails.

Years
Flew by
Until time
Gave us a way
To see the Andes,
Walk among the structures,
Ponder people who produced
The hand-hewn marvel of past times!
Machu Picchu reaching into clouds!

The moment I saw a picture of Machu Picchu, I wanted to go. I was thrilled many years later when an opportunity came along that allowed my husband and I to travel with friends from our university days to Peru and see Machu Picchu and visit other wonderful cities and places there.

I love this poem by Eaflevin who reflects on the joy of seeing her sister who lives miles away.

--

--

Nancy S Rust
Poetry Playground

Journeying through pages and paths, chasing words, embracing life, promoting literacy. .