Soul Talk

Reema Sathe
Poetry & Prose
Published in
2 min readDec 23, 2013

--

My writing today is inspired from current events in the country and personal inspiration, things or behaviors i see in my surroundings or the social circle i live in. With the recent evocation of Section 377 (Criminalizing homosexuality) by the Indian Supreme Court there have been protests and several questions raised. It makes me think that not just our sexual orientation, but several such unspoken laws or law of the land exist in our society. Who decides what is right or what is wrong? Are we empowered or wise enough to judge a person’s story? Why we should be ruled by a set norm or behaviors when we don’t mean harm to another? There is a lot of grey and hardly any black and white. And so is my poetry:

List of maneuvered words,

gestures of hidden intentions;

Expectations of a cast stereotype,

Behavior that suit the minds.

An unspoken definition of all things nature

An unseen line that binds body and mind;

An inch of aberration has swaying tongues and rolling eyes, You shall be punished of a vice.

I fight with you in my head I clench my teeth and my brain is in a cage.

Until the prisoned soul breaks the shackle

I question your hollow philosophies;

I don’t care if it raises a hackle.

*********

Let us raise humanity and not egos,

Let us fight for peace and not conventions

Let us pull people out of misery and not our own sense of righteousness

Let us love each other and enjoy the difference that we are,

For all in the world are sui generis

And so shall we stay.

--

--

Reema Sathe
Poetry & Prose

Founder- Happy Roots. Part-time writer @YourStoryCo. Helping small and tribal farmers develop high value alternate income sources. Blog @ storiesisee.com