Identity

A poem about loving yourself.

Claudia Koomson
Poetry Publication
2 min readNov 6, 2023

--

flowers in colors
Photo taken by author

Time passes by fast when I look into your eyes.
I look and you remind me that I’m beautiful.
I feel that I’m beautiful.
So, I let the real me come out.
I let my soul shout.
So that it can tell you what I’m about.
Who I am.
Tell you where I stand.
Allow you to understand,
Understand that I’m me…

That is it. I’m only me.
I’m not the perfection you were looking for.
I’m not the one that I showed before.
I’m me.

I tried to hide her but she crept through me and spilled out all my secrets.
She got lost and told them all; the good ones, the crazy ones, the deepest.
And I felt it.
I felt the chemistry, the destiny, because I truly thought we were destined to be…
Forever.
I thought this whole love thing was forever.
I felt this whole love thing was forever.
But I guess that I forgot that we don’t live forever.
Life is not forever, so maybe that’s the answer.

I must have gotten caught up in the sweet kisses, soft touches, and false wishes.
Because I did wish on a shooting star,
And you’re lucky we even got this far.
From the very beginning, you tried to change me, rearrange me and fix me as if I were broken.
Took the words out of my mouth and twisted them before they were even spoken.
So, I swallowed it and accepted it and let you have your fun.
I let you get away with it, have your way with it, because I thought you were the one.

I was foolish to allow it because I was already beautiful before you got here.
My heart was already beating perfectly before you got here.
So don’t change me.
Don’t expect me to apologize for being me.
I have flaws like everybody else and you were supposed to accept me.
When you truly love someone, you love them for them.
So don’t try to change me.

I realized that I won’t let you change the girl that’s within me.
So, I’ll say goodbye to you, just to keep my identity.

--

--

Claudia Koomson
Poetry Publication

I am a writer looking to build my portfolio in these topics: poetry 📝 yoga 🧘🏽‍♀️ travel 🧳