Poem: Fading, Lasting

Luc Wathieu
Poetry Publication
Published in
1 min readJul 5, 2024

Soon after we married, I began the habit

of dropping on the dining table one-liner

love poems written in blue ink on colored cards,

before leaving for work.

You collected these cards in a cheap, chiseled box

of fragrant dark wood that later disappeared, drowned

in some moving cartons — or at least so we thought.

Then there was a long pause.

A decade later, we found the box on the floor

of our new home’s garage. The ink had faded, and

the handwriting seemed like it was someone else’s,

and there were fewer cards.

Worst of all, the lines were flimsier than before

–one of them even read “Je t’aimerai toujours.”

So this time, I publish my poems, ensuring

that nothing strange happens.

People will read my texts before they disappear.

I am like Joseph Smith, who showed his golden plates

to neighbors and cousins on a mountain before

the artifacts vanished.

I am not religious, but our love deserves

this extra precaution.

--

--

Luc Wathieu
Poetry Publication

Luc Wathieu is a behavioral economist, writer, and professor of marketing at Georgetown University